I Didn’t Travel 7,500 Miles to Read a Book or Write a Blog

I had all of the intention to write during my trip. I really did. I was going to take pictures of everything and update my followers/friends with every high and low moment I experienced. I brought my tablet and filled it with books I was going to finish. I was going to find a secluded hammock on a beach and do the whole cliche’ read-on-the-beach-and-fall-asleep-in-the-sand sort of thing. I would then update all the people in my life of what I ate, where I slept, who I saw, yadiyadiya.

For the first couple of days, I was pretty good at staying connected. I wrote my 2 blogs, checked in on Facebook, shared photos on Instagram, and all was well. All was well, until the touchscreen on my phone broke.

Suddenly, I found myself with just a phone. A phone I couldn’t use to call anyone because I didn’t set up an international plan. A phone I couldn’t access my games on. A phone I couldn’t even Google with. Fortunately, there was one undamaged spot on my phone where the touchscreen did work and I was still able to take pictures, but that was it. I essentially had a $600 camera (not even a very good one at that). I was devastated. I thought this blog would die. I thought I wouldn’t be able to capture the special moments of my trip. I wondered how people would know how great of a trip I’m having.

It seems silly now that I am writing all of this down, but these were true feelings I experienced when I realized my phone would be out of commission during my trip. After moping for a day, I stashed my phone away and went about my holiday. It was then that I found myself with more time. I lost track of the days, hours, and minutes. I got lost more frequently and had a blast discovering where I would end up next. Instead of using TripAdvisor to find my next destination, I asked around and discovered the most amazing restaurants, beaches, and sights. I spoke to people instead of mindlessly browsing through Facebook.

Often times, we lose the moment by trying to capture it.

Losing my phone was a blessing in disguise. Instead of trying to memorialize every moment, I experienced it. It was the best thing that could happen to me on this trip.

So, while I was not able to blog during my trip or finish reading The Three Musketeers, I did what I sought to. I experienced life. Of course I still want to share what I experienced, those blogs will come as I get to them. For now, I’m just going to let the memories settle in while I make my transition back home.

One thought on “I Didn’t Travel 7,500 Miles to Read a Book or Write a Blog”

  1. isn’t it funny how that happens? the same thing happened to me when I was in Peru – the humidity of the Amazon jungle broke my cheap little camera and my blackberry, which I thought was devastating! It took me some time to come to terms with it, but after a few days, the freedom of not having to deal with any electronics and to just absorb each moment as it arrives is liberating!!! sometimes we have to lose to find… just like when we travel we ourselves get lost to be found! you gotta love it!!! 🙂 hope your transition back home is a beautiful one x x x

Leave a Reply

